If You Want To Drum, Drum On A Drum

“If You Want To Drum, Drum On A Drum”

I heard that practically all my life. When I was a kid, I banged on everything. Pots, pans, doors, little sister, couches, everything. My mom was fond of saying “Wally,  if you want to drum, drum on a drum.” Even though I had a practice pad or snare drum when I was younger, or a drum set as I got older, I still found the need to tap out rhythms that were in my head. I also felt compelled to drum along to just about any song I heard on the radio. Once I started driving, I was in my glory. I loved steering wheel drumming. All the sounds you could make in one, compact place.  However, the constant refrain I heard was ” if you want to drum, drum on a drum.”

Now, all these years later, I still do it, much to my wife’s dismay. She hates it with a passion, especially the great sounds I can get out of modern-day airbags. They really rock. I still get so engrossed in the music when I drive, sometimes I forget that certain passengers find it annoying. Then I’ll catch myself and give a sheepish grin, a raise of my eyebrows and a shrug of my shoulders.  Then I start to whistle!

I’d love to hear your non-drum, drumming stories. Feel free to post them here.

5 comments on “If You Want To Drum, Drum On A Drum

  1. Pingback: 23 January 2012: good drumming « Gratitude every day

Leave a Reply

